Skip to content

Oh no

23 Sep 2012

I told myself I’d kick myself if I made any big genealogical finds in the first two Jerome Holmes diaries I obtained, after having neglected them for two years.

Kick, kick, kick.

Tonight I picked up the 1893 diary to photograph it and noticed something in the back the other two diaries lacked: A filled-in address list. Among the entries: “Corydon W. Holmes, Ottawa, Franklin Co. Kansas” and “Lovilo N. Holmes, Mankato, Blue Earth Co., Miami”.

Corydon and Lovilo were sons of Peter Holmes and Rachel Stowell — Jerome’s first cousins, if Peter and Hiram were brothers. For which the evidence is now that much stronger. Pretty much ironclad, I think.

There are a number of other names, some of which I recognize as already-known relatives and some as possibly just acquaintances from Hamilton, and a lot that I don’t recognize at all. It’s a bit interesting that I do not see any other Holmes-side cousins listed. Some of the rest had died by then but not all.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

