Skip to content

The other lines of DNA

26 Dec 2012

A couple weeks ago I ordered a Family Finder test from familytreedna.com. This is their autosomal SNP product which allows matching to relatives with common ancestors up to five or more generations back. Given that I’m mostly pretty confident of my pedigree on all lines for at least five generations, my interest in this test had been fairly minimal — but there may be interesting things to learn; and besides, a 2nd cousin on my mother’s side did a Family Finder test, and comparing mine to his will help in the interpretation of his results.

I’m in batch 494, results expected 29 Jan. They used the sample I sent them in January 2010 for a 12-marker yDNA test, which since then has also been used for a 12 to 37 upgrade, three “advanced” yDNA STRs, a 37 to 67 upgrade, and a new yDNA SNP.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

