Skip to content

Eunice was a Holmes

26 Jan 2013

I’ve had Eunice HOLMES (ca. 1806–1861) in my database for years, and I’ve convinced myself she was a sister of my ancestor Hiram HOLMES, but in fact other than some second or third hand information from another researcher I had nothing showing her maiden name. I finally decided I’d better do something about that, so I sent the appropriate form and fee to the Cortland (NY) City Clerk and today received from them a transcript of the death record of Harriett A. BENJAMIN, showing her parents’ names as EDGLESTON (sic, and why no first name?) and Eunice HOLMES. There’s other information most of which I had already from her obituary or the New York vital records index (on microfiche at the Onondaga County Public Library in Syracuse). But this is the one thing I have that shows Eunice was indeed a Holmes.

Harriet Benjamin death record

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

