Skip to content

Letter of Administration

11 Jul 2018

Rather abruptly, I find I’ve become the (sole) administrator for the Holmes DNA Project at Family Tree DNA.

Last month, the person who’s long been the administrator and who maintained a website for the project on his own server sent out a letter explaining that, due to policy changes at ftdna, that web site had been closed down and would be replaced by one at ftdna. He also asked if anyone would be interested in becoming an administrator for the project. I responded asking for more information, under the impression he was talking about adding administrators, not replacing himself.

However, he left the position last weekend. I wrote to ftdna offering to become the new administrator and was accepted.

So there I am.

There’s a bit of a learning curve. Working on that. I’ve put the anonymized test results back online. Other than that, maintaining the status quo for now.

I’ve let it be known I’d welcome additional administrators for the project; no takers yet.

The project has 201 members now. I’d like to see more. Holmes is a pretty common name; we should have more people testing and willing to share results than that.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment